Chapter XI: Stranger Things

Bonjour mes amis

This week was full of surprises and interesting activities. I was so busy that I couldn’t even share a new post this week. So with one day delay, here is what happened this week!

Aaaah. Monday. The debate. Free, and with more drama. Take that movie theatres! With Bill, the man who’s always up-to-date with the latest political incidents, watching the debate was kind of funny. He knew exactly when someone was lying (90% of the time it was Trump of course), and afterwards I read in the newspaper that everything what Bill said was right. The day after, at school, I noticed that a lot of people were making fun of the debate. Mostly because they are desperate, I guess, since the majority of the people I hang out with doesn’t like either Hillary or Trump. I feel very concerned that one of those two figures has to become the most powerful person on this planet…

Anyways, I have bigger news! Monday, I changed my schedule for hopefully the last time this year. I dropped Dance class. Not because I was afraid to learn how to dance, but because we weren’t learning anything at all. The teacher is everything except a real choreographer, and he was showing us just some YouTubevideo’s. I had the feeling that I was wasting my time, so I dropped it. However, I had 9th period off, so I decided to take a new class. I don’t know how my parents will react when I tell them I have decided to take… Piano! I guess you didn’t expect that, right? I took the class on Monday and enjoyed every second of it. Everybody is a beginner, and even after I missed three weeks, I was still able to pick up everything I missed. Now I’m working at Jingle Bells (because it’s almost Christmas of course) and it is getting somewhere! At least, I hope it is..
Every day after school, I had rehearsal for ‘Rowing to America’, so I was pretty K.O. when I got home. I’m enjoying my scene more and more, and the play is getting somewhere!

Saturday, day 52 of my exchange year, we went to Rusty’s birthday party. Rusty is the son of Gerry, the man who invited us with his wife Carol to their house in Cape Cod. So he is the nephew of Alan. Unfortunately, we left vey early, because the loud noise in the house was too much for Bill, who still hasn’t fully recovered from his concussion. However, now I was ready for the next big day…

Yesterday, I had… uhm… yeah… A date. I was going to the city with Isabel, a girl from my Filmmaking and Piano class. We went to the MoMa, the Highline, Whitney and Madison Square Park. But that’s all I tell you about that day 😉. 

Now I’m heading to the city once more, to meet the AFS people once again! Yes, on a Monday, because I have a 4-day weekend. Thanks to the Jewish holidays! Let’s hope I will have fun! By the way, for the Belgian college students:

Hoe was de eerste week in Gent, Leuven, Brussel, Delft, Antwerpen of ergens anders? Voel u vrij om mij een berichtje te sturen als ge wilt, ik ben nogal nieuwsgierig! 

See you guys next week!

2 gedachtes over “Chapter XI: Stranger Things

  1. Dag Ralph

    Wat een drukke becommentarieerde week !

    Al je dagen zijn zo spannend en boeiend en waar ik vooral blij voor ben, is dat je nu piano leert spelen. Ik heb het altijd al jammer gevonden dat niemand van “de Veldekes” muzikaal was en nu begin JIJ eraan. Tof ! Ook zo vader, zo zoon !!! Kan geen toeval zijn.

    Muziek is voor mij, al is het alleen passief, zeer belangrijk. Het houdt me jong en jij kiest nu voor pianoles, goed nieuws !

    Tot volgende week en beleef verder je mooie dagen.

    Groetjes aan de family.

    Oma xxx

    Geliked door 2 people

Plaats een reactie